University of ReginaCentre on Aging and Health (CAH)

Members and Associate Members

Members and Associate Members hold faculty or senior research appointments at a university or health care facility and demonstrate academic excellence in gerontology or health research in general (e.g., multiple publications, substantial external grants)


Jane Alcorn, Ph.D., DVM

University of Saskatchewan

Research Interests: pharmacokinetics and pharmacology of drugs/natural products in older adults

Clinical Interests: clinical efficacy of flax seed lignans in cardiovascular disease risk factors, drug pharmacokinetics in older adults

Email: jane.alcorn@usask.ca


Gordon J. G. Asmundson, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Anxiety disorders and chronic pain in seniors

Email: Gordon.Asmundson@uregina.ca


John Barden, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Cluster Leader: Musculoskeletal Health and Mobility

Research Interests: Use of proprioceptive feedback to control joint interaction torques in multijoint movement, adaptation of neuromuscular control mechanisms to microgravity environments, role of proprioceptive feedback in maintaining joint stability, role of central pattern generators in cyclic upper limb movements, applications of non-linear dynamics systems to the neural control of movement, the impact of deficient proprioception on joint stability and postural control mechanisms in the aging population, the impact of deficient postural control on gait and obstacle avoidance in patients with Parkinson's disease and the effect of age and osteoarthritis on knee proprioception.

Clinical Interests: improved neuromuscular control through increased physical activity for elderly subjects, rehabilitation programs for patients with shoulder instability.

Email: John.Barden@uregina.ca


Carrie Bourassa, Ph.D.

Health Sciences North Research Institute

Cluster Leader: Aboriginal Health and Aging 

Reseach Interests: Cross-cultural end of life care and Aboriginal people; health and social issues affecting Aboriginal Grandmothers; colonization and impacts on Aboriginal women; traditional teachings as methods of healing.

Email: cbourassa@hsnri.ca

Top of Page


Darren Candow, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Nutrition and exercise on musculoskeletal health

Email: darren.candow@uregina.ca


Philip Chilibeck, Ph.D.

University of Saskatchewan

Research Interests: Physical activity, nutrition, aging, osteoporosis, bone health, muscle health, sarcopenia, metabolic syndrome, diabetes

Email: phil.chilibeck@usask.ca


Kim Dorsch, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Cardiac rehabilitation, exercise psychology, health psychology, and sport psychology.

Clinical Interests: Psychological performance in sport and exercise, goal setting.

Email: Kim.Dorsch@uregina.ca


Dorothy Forbes, Ph.D.

University of Alberta

Research Interests: Determinants of health in older adults; managing symptoms of AD; health services in rural and remote areas; support for informal caregivers

Clinical Interests: Home Care

Email: Dorothy.Forbes@ualberta.ca

Top of Page


Michelle Gagnon, Ph.D.

University of Saskatchewan 

Research Interests: Health psychology, older adults, pain, family health

Email: Michelle.gagnon@usask.ca


Romayne Gallagher, M.D.

University of British Columbia

Research Interests: Patient/Physician communication, public education on death and dying, chronic pain in the elderly.

Clinical Interests: Palliative care and chronic pain.

Email: rgallagher@providencehealth.bc.ca


Rebecca Genoe, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Leisure and Aging, Leisure and Identity, Memory Loss.

Email: Rebecca.Genoe@uregina.ca


Jennifer Gordon, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: The role of ovarian hormones in the etiology of perimenopausal depression, cardiovascular effects of perimenopausal hormone changes, mechanisms linking hot flashes and increased cardiovascular disease risk

Email: jennifer.gordon@uregina.ca


Sheryl Green, Ph.D.

McMaster University

Research Interests: clinical neuropsychology, ethics in professional practice, theories in cognitive development

Email: sgreen@stjosham.on.ca


Heather Hadjistavropoulos, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Health anxiety assessment and treatment, pain assessment and treatment, patient-provider relationships, health services research, quality of care, continuity of care, integrated care pathways and guidelines, client satisfaction, waiting lists.

Clinical Interests: Adult psychological assessment and treatment, in particular, depression, anxiety, chronic pain.

Email: hadjista@uregina.ca


Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Cluster Leader: Pain in Old Age

Research Interests: Pain assessment, dementia, gerontology, ethics and standards of professional practice, clinical psychology, and health psychology.

Clinical Interests: Adult Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and Adult Psychological Assessment.

Email: Thomas.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca

Top of Page


Mary Hampton, Ed.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Women's health, sexual health, adolescent health, Aboriginal community development.

Clinical Interests: Person-centred counseling, feminist therapy, cross-cultural and community psychology.

Email: mary.hampton@luthercollege.edu


Bryan Hillis, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Medical ethics, religion and society, world religions and ethics

Email: bryan.hillis@uregina.ca


Paulette Hunter, Ph.D.

University of Saskatchewan

Research Interests: Pain assessment, pain management, older adults, personhood

Email: phunter@stmcollege.ca


Shanthi Johnson, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Role of nutrition and exercise interventions in improving functional capacity and reducing falls in seniors in community and long-term care settings, injury/falls prevention, cross-cultural study of aging, health beliefs and practices, rural health, health planning process, food security

Email: santhi.johnson@uregina.ca


Sharon Kaasalainen, Ph.D.

McMaster University

Research Interests: Aging, psychometric evaluation, long-term care, evidence based practice, pain measurement

Email: kaasal@mcmaster.ca

Top of Page


Wendee Kubik, Ph.D.

Brock University

Research Interests: Aboriginal health and aging research; elderly women’s health

Email: wkubik@brocku.ca


Anne M. Lavack, Ph.D.

Thompson Rivers University

Research Interests: Social marketing; health promotion; tobacco marketing and de-marketing; tobacco denormalization

Email: alavack@tru.ca


Sandra LeFort, Ph.D.

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Research Interests: Self help interventions for chronic pain and chronic illness, cognitive behavioural strategies for pain management, aging and management of chronic conditions, development of mid-range theory to guide nursing practice.

Clinical Interests: Nursing practice, chronic pain, primary health care, aging and quality of life.

Email: slefort@mun.ca


Lisa Lix, Ph.D.

University of Manitoba

Research Interests: longitudinal data, multivariate statistics, robust estimation, quality of life, administrative data

Email: Lisa_Lix@cpe.umanitoba.ca

Top of Page


David Malloy, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Cluster Leader: Personhood and Resilience in Senior Care

Research Interests: Ethics and philosophy in health care organizational contexts (e.g., decision-making, organizational culture and climate).

Email: David.Malloy@uregina.ca


Gregory Marchildon, Ph.D.

University of Toronto

Research Interests: Aging and Public Policy, Governance and Fiscal Sustainability of Health Care.

Email: greg.marchildon@utoronto.ca


Ronald Martin, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: pain assessment among older adults in community, long-term care, and palliative settings; development and implementation of psychosocial treatment programs for pain among older adults; the relationship between fear of pain and fear of falling in younger and older populations; medical decision making among older adults; cognitive aging

Clinical Interests: The treatment of anxiety and depression using cognitive-behavioural interventions.

Email: Ronald.Martin@uregina.ca


Lesley McBain, Ph.D.

First Nations University of Canada

Research Interests: Accessibility to dementia care in rural or remote communities, long-term care facilities on First Nation reserves.

Email: lam128@mail.usask.ca

Top of Page


Katherine McLeod, Ph.D

University of Saskatchewan 

Research Interests: Osteroporosis, fragility, fracture, nutrition, physical activity and aging, health behaviour change, patient-oriented research, health promotion/health education knowledge translation. 

Email: Katherine.McLeod@usask.ca


Ken Mitchell, M.A.

University of Regina

Email: Ken.Mitchell@uregina.ca


Debra Morgan, Ph.D.

University of Saskatchewan

Email: debra.morgan@usask.ca


Joan Roy, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Email: joan.roy@uregina.ca


William Smythe, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Autobiographical narrative.

Email: William.Smythe@uregina.ca

Top of Page


Kerrie Strathy, M.A./M.Ed.

University of Regina Lifelong Learning Centre

Research Interests: Lifelong learning, health promotion, volunteerism, gerontology, cross cultural awareness, traditional medicine.

Email: Kerrie.Strathy@uregina.ca


Ann-Marie Urban, RN, RPN, Ph.D.

University of Regina 

Research Interests: Nurses' health, mental health, wellness, nurses' work.

Email: ann-marie.urban@uregina.ca


Susan Whiting, Ph.D.

University of Saskatchewan

Research Interests: Nutrition, health sciences, musculoskeletal system and rehabilitation

Email: susan.whiting@usask.ca


Abigail Wickson-Griffiths, RN, Ph.D

University of Regina

Gerontology Program Coordinator 

Research Interests: long-term care, dementia care, palliative and end-of-life care, advanced practice nursing

Email: abigail.wickson-griffiths@uregina.ca


Jaime Williams, Ph.D.

University of Regina

Research Interests: Fear of pain, health psychology, ethics, fear of falling among seniors

Clinical Interests: Cognitive behavioural therapy, neuropsychological assessment

Email: willia4j@hotmail.com


Lei Zhang, Ph.D., C.Eng., MIEEE, MWeldI

University of Regina

Research Interests: Brain research, brain stimulation, brain computer interface instrumentation, system design, and development

Email: lei.zhang@uregina.ca

Top of Page