University of ReginaCentre on Aging and Health (CAH)

Faculty List & Research Interests


Gordon Asmundson, PhD.

Professor of Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

Chronic pain and the anxiety disorders in seniors, a population in which these important issues have been generally understudied.

Email: Gordon.Asmundson@uregina.ca


John Barden, PhD.

Associate Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests: 

Sensor-based analysis of gait patterns in healthy older adults and in adults with various pathological and neuromuscular conditions (e.g., knee osteoarthritis and multiple sclerosis).

Email: John.Barden@uregina.ca


Darren Candow, PhD, CSEP-CEP

Associate Professor of Exercise Physiology and Metabolism in Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Exercise, Nutrition, and Aging

Email: Darren.Candow@uregina.ca


James Daschuk, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Environmental Change and Health, Indigenous People.

Email: James.Daschuk@uregina.ca


Top of Page

Douglas Durst, PhD.

Professor of Social Work

Relevant Research Interests:

Diversity and Aging

Email: Doug.Durst@uregina.ca


Rebecca Genoe, PhD.

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Leisure and aging, experience of memory loss, chronic conditions, retirement

Email: Rebecca.Genoe@uregina.ca


Jennifer Gordon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology

Canada Research Chair in Women's Mental Health

Relevant Research Interests:

Mental health in peri- and postmenopausal women, biopsychosocial contributors and consequences of postmenopausal insomnia and vasomotor symptoms.

Email: Jennifer.Gordon@uregina.ca


Heather Hadjistavropoulos, PhD.

Professor of Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

Internet-delivered cognitive behavioral therapy; depression; anxiety; health anxiety, chronic pain, continuity of care

Email: Heather.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca


Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, PhD., ABPP, FCAHS

Professor of Psychology and Research Chair in Aging and Health

Relevant Research Interests:

Pain assessment and management among seniors including seniors with dementia; psychological risk factors in falling.

Email: Thomas.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca


Top of Page

Ronald R. Martin, Ph.D., R.D. Psych.

Associate Professor, Faculty of Education (Ed Psych)

Relevant Research Interests:

Pain, falls, and quality of life among seniors

Email: Ron.Martin@uregina.ca


Patrick Neary, PhD.

Associate Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Physiological issues related to chronic disease, illness, and exercise as they relate to aging.

Email: Patrick.Neary@uregina.ca


Abigail Wickson-Griffiths

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing and Gerontology Program Coordinator 

Relevant Research Interests:

long-term care; dementia care; palliative and end-of-life
care; advanced practice nursing

Email: Abigail.Wickson-Griffiths@uregina.ca

Top of Page