University of ReginaCentre on Aging and Health (CAH)

Faculty List & Research Interests


Gordon Asmundson, PhD.

Professor of Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

Chronic pain and the anxiety disorders in seniors, a population in which these important issues have been generally understudied.

Email: Gordon.Asmundson@uregina.ca


John Barden, PhD.

Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests: 

Sensor-based analysis of gait patterns in healthy older adults and in adults with various pathological and neuromuscular conditions (e.g., knee osteoarthritis and multiple sclerosis).

Email: John.Barden@uregina.ca


Josef Buttigieg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Relevant Research Interests: 

Dr. Buttigieg's area of interest is centered on better understanding the pathophysiology associated with diseases such as dementia (e.g. Alzheimer's), autoimmune diseases (e.g. Multiple Sclerosis), and injury (e.g. stroke or spinal cord injury). A wide range of research techniques are utilized in his research lab. These include molecular biology (qPCR, proteomics), cell physiology (electrophysiology, and cell signaling) to animal/human work (tissue biopsies, behavior and movement).

Email: Josef.Buttigieg@uregina.ca


Darren Candow, PhD, CSEP-CEP

Professor of Exercise Physiology and Metabolism in Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Exercise, Nutrition, and Aging

Email: Darren.Candow@uregina.ca


Top of Page

Douglas Durst, PhD.

Professor of Social Work

Relevant Research Interests:

Diversity and Aging

Email: Doug.Durst@uregina.ca


Natasha Gallant, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

(1) The influence of psychosocial factors (e.g., ageism, social support, emotions) in the experience of chronic diseases among older persons; (2)  The role of adversity & resilience in the aging process; and (3) Development of policy recommendations aimed at improving the lived experiences of aging populations.

Email: Natasha.Gallant@uregina.ca

Rebecca Genoe, Ph.D.

Professor of  Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Leisure and aging, leisure and chronic conditions, leisure and dementia, the lived experience of dementia, leisure and retirement, Therapeutic Recreation in Long-Term Care, and qualitative methodologies.

Email: Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies


Jennifer Gordon, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychology

Canada Research Chair in Women's Mental Health

Relevant Research Interests:

Mental health in peri- and postmenopausal women, biopsychosocial contributors and consequences of postmenopausal insomnia and vasomotor symptoms.

Email: Jennifer.Gordon@uregina.ca


Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, PhD., ABPP, FCAHS

Professor of Psychology and Research Chair in Aging and Health

Relevant Research Interests:

Pain assessment and management among seniors including seniors with dementia; psychological risk factors in falling.

Email: Thomas.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca


Cameron Mang, PhD

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Research Interests: Neurorehabilitation, stroke, brain injury, multiple sclerosis, motor learning, motor control.

Clinical Interests: Community exercise and rehabilitation programming.

Email: cameron.mang@uregina.ca


Abigail Wickson-Griffiths, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing and Gerontology Program Coordinator 

Relevant Research Interests:

long-term care; dementia care; palliative and end-of-life
care; advanced practice nursing

Email: Abigail.Wickson-Griffiths@uregina.ca

Top of Page