University of ReginaCentre on Aging and Health (CAH)

Faculty List & Research Interests


Gordon Asmundson, PhD.

Professor of Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

Chronic pain and the anxiety disorders in seniors, a population in which these important issues have been generally understudied.

Email: Gordon.Asmundson@uregina.ca


John Barden, PhD.

Associate Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests: 

Gait patterns in older adults and the relationship of locomotor control to postural instability and falls.

Email: John.Barden@uregina.ca


Darren Candow, PhD, CSEP-CEP

Associate Professor of Exercise Physiology and Metabolism in Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Exercise, Nutrition, and Aging

Email: Darren.Candow@uregina.ca


Top of Page

Douglas Durst, PhD.

Professor of Social Work

Relevant Research Interests:

Diversity and Aging

Email: Doug.Durst@uregina.ca


Rebecca Genoe, PhD.

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Leisure and aging, experience of memory loss

Email: Rebecca.Genoe@uregina.ca


Heather Hadjistavropoulos, PhD.

Professor of Psychology

Relevant Research Interests:

Quality of health services, health anxiety, chronic pain, internet-CBT

Email: Heather.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca


Thomas Hadjistavropoulos, PhD., ABPP, FCAHS

Professor of Psychology and Research Chair in Aging and Health

Relevant Research Interests:

Pain assessment and management among seniors including seniors with dementia; psychological risk factors in falling.

Email: Thomas.Hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca


Mary Hampton, EdD.

Professor of Psychology, Luther College

Relevant Research Interests:

Aboriginal health and aging research; palliative care among seniors

Email: Mary.Hampton@uregina.ca


Top of Page

David Malloy, PhD.

Vice-President (Research) and Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests: 

Ethical and philosophical issues in aging and health.

Email: David.Malloy@uregina.ca


Ronald R. Martin, Ph.D., R.D. Psych.

Associate Professor, Faculty of Education (Ed Psych)

Relevant Research Interests:

Pain, falls, and quality of life among seniors

Email: Ron.Martin@uregina.ca


Patrick Neary, PhD.

Associate Professor of Kinesiology & Health Studies

Relevant Research Interests:

Physiological issues related to chronic disease, illness, and exercise as they relate to aging.

Email: Patrick.Neary@uregina.ca


Abigail Wickson-Griffiths

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing and Gerontology Program Coordinator 

Relevant Research Interests:

long-term care; dementia care; palliative and end-of-life
care; advanced practice nursing

Email: Abigail.Wickson-Griffiths@uregina.ca

Top of Page