Return to list

Regina Lutheran Home Wins 2015 CAH Award for Innovation in Health Care Delivery

Representatives of the Regina Lutheran Home accept the award on November 26, 2015

Prior to our 2015 Annual Distinguished Lecture and in the presence of an audience of approximately 215 people, we had the distinct pleasure of presenting the 2015 University of Regina Centre on Aging & Health (CAH) Award for Innovation in Health Care Delivery.

This award recognizes Regina-based individuals, groups, or organizations offering health care to older adults. The winner has introduced an innovative approach to service provision or has conducted field research to evaluate services or programs for older persons.

We received many excellent nominations but our adjudication committee, which consisted exclusively of seniors from Regina, unanimously selected Regina Lutheran Home for their regular and systematic implementation of Nurse Practitioner Team to their Eden Care philosophy.  The implementation of a nurse practitioner team in this long-term care facility has resulted in measurable quality of life improvements for Regina Lutheran Home residents and serves as a model for others to follow.

The effective Nurse Practitioner Team consisted of Ms. Deanna Barlow, Ms. Stella Devenney, and Ms. Maureen Klenk. We appreciate their hard work, and their dedication to making the lives of older adults in our community better. In addition to the Nurse Practitioner Team, Mr. Alan Stephen, CEO, Ms. Maxine Holm, Board Chair, Eden Care Communities, and Ms. Leah Clement, Executive Director of Health Services, were also there to accept the award. Mr. Stephen mentioned that they were humbled but thrilled to win the award. He noted that Regina Lutheran Home is just one of many organizations in Regina (and in Saskatchewan) doing their best to improve the lives of older adults and that he and his team will continue to do so through hard work and innovation.  

The CAH congratulates the Regina Lutheran Home and their Nurse Practitioner Team for their outstanding work in the field of health care delivery. We would also like to acknowledge our wonderful adjudication committee— Ms. Linda Anderson, Dr. Joan Roy, and Ms. Marj Thiessen—for helping select our deserving winner.

For more information, or to nominate an individual or organization for next year’s award, please visit or contact Scott J. Wilson, CAH Administrator, at or (306) 337-8477.